Switch Midi Channels via Variations & Patch Persist

Hi everyone,

I’m new to GP and about to rebuild my actual KRONOS setup via vst. Love the freedom and creativity capabilities GP offers, really a great product! I already found a solution to my question on my own (and by reading/searching this forum) but want to know from experts if the same could be achieved in an even more simple way.

I find that the lowest overall setup-complexity is achieved by having one dedicated rackspace per song and realize all the adaptions needed throughout a song via variations. Since I play with one 88 key controller, what I need is “perfect patch persist” and the possibility to exchange the complete sound setup between rackspace variations including sounds, layers and splits if necessary. With “perfect patch persist” I mean no stuck notes or glitches and hold via key or sustain pedal.

My solution offering all of the above is to change midi channel mappings via a simple knob widget cross variations and the usage of midi channel constrainers. But doing so is only half the solution: By enabling “Reset after change” in the MIDI In blocks, I’m done but don’t have patch persist when switching midi channels. Disabling “Reset after change” - for sure - leads to stuck notes. So, my solution is to midi-filter sustain/noteOff and bypass the midi channel constrainer. With this solution “patch persist” works like a charm across midi channel switches.

Here an example for the Song “Jump” that needs 3 different allocations/midi channels/sound setups:

So, my question: Is there an easier solution to achieve this, or in general, would you solve this differently and how?

Thank you :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi @Basty85, welcome to the GP community forum. I am not sure I fully understand your solution. Could your please post your gig file? (I changed you user status such that you can do that even as a new community forum member)

Would this be of interest for you?

1 Like