Saying hello and first steps

Hello there - I’m very new to Gig Performer and have been working my way through various videos and tutorials. I’m mainly a guitarist, and am getting to grips with building amp and effects chains and switching back and forth with a midi foot controller, but am also interested in what else I can do in a live band situation with the software.

One thing I haven’t seen anywhere is whether it’s possible to control external devices by sending midi instructions at specific time or musically based points; for example, to control a midi-based guitar effects unit to change settings at a certain point, either from a minutes and seconds reference on an audio track, or bars and beats from a midi player. I understand that it’s possible to send midi information when moving to a new variation or rackspace, but is this the only time such info can be sent?

Sorry if this is a silly question but it’s quite a lot to get to grips with! Many thanks for any help.

@Bilbao, welcome to the family :wink:
With scripting it is very easy to send out midi messages to a connected midi device at specific bar:beat positions.

There is a callback which is called at every beat when you activate global play

3 Likes

Welcome around! feel free to ask for help when in need.
You don’t say what platform you use? win? Mac? audio interface…

1 Like

Thanks for the welcome.

In answer to the questions, I’m on Windows. Four audio outs should be enough for my needs to start with (guitar to PA, additional audio player track to PA, click track to drummer) so I’ll be using a little Focusrite Saffire 6 USB interface.

Looks like I’ll have to delve into the murky world of scripting…

1 Like

When you dive in you will love scripting

2 Likes

Welcome on board @Bilbao, don’t hesitate to ask if you have difficulties to do you first GPScripting steps :wink:

1 Like