My (hopefully) FINAL live rig solution

Boys and Girls,

This is HAL:

After much frustration with various laptops, HAL is my final answer to the issues that have plagued me over the past 18 months.

I am not an engineer or designer…but in my practical use experience, my opinion is (and really has always been) that laptops SUCK. It is simply not logical that a laptop, with everything being miniaturized, can offer the same performance AND reliability that a desktop has to offer.

Since I started this endeavor, I have bounced between three different laptops (that’s a lot of $$ to experiment with!), with each of them giving me some type of problem…either the audio interface was the problem (2x…each problem being different), or there was some type of VST compatibility that didn’t play nice. HOWEVER - during all this, none of these issues were present on my main studio PC. Why would these hardware/software issues work perfectly with GP on my workstation, but not the laptops?

I believe the root of these problems was the BIOS/motherboards of the laptops. All things (ie: the software being used) being equal…what else could it be? So far, my theory has been correct. In all my testing, HAL has not exhibited any of the quirkiness of the laptops and performs as well as my main workstation PC.

So I built HAL to accompany me to gigs. HAL is an Asus/Intel based PC mounted in a server chassis seated in a flight case:

HAL uses a mini, wireless keyboard mouse combo, and portable “gaming” monitor. The monitor is powered by HAL, so minimal cabling is needed. The cabling stores neatly in the back cavity, and with a tension mount can be left connected at all times:

HAL sits on a basic guitar stand for gigs:

And when the gig is done, HAL packs up neatly and safely: