Fading-on pad sound via modwheel

Hey guys,

as a long time hardware user I am new to using Gigperformer. I am currently learning the ropes and trying to create different rackspaces. There is one topic - which I’m sure has been asked a zillion times - that has me stumped. I have not found anything suitable and therefore ask here. Should there be a Workaround/Thread - simply refer to it. Thanks for your help.

Simple case:

Piano sound (Native Kontakt Grandeur) is selected. In the chorus I would like to fade-in a pad sound (also Native Kontakt Strings) via modwheel (stepless, so no simple “on/off”. The volume should be dependent on the modwheel position. I often use this with my Nord Stage).

Currently Pad & Piano are sounding constantly. How do I proceed here? I tried to learn the volume of Kontakt in Wiring mode, but somehow it doesn’t work. What is the right way here?

Thank you and greetings,
Michael

Hi Michael, and welcome to the Gig Performer family! :beers:

Just use your two instances of Kontakt (piano and strings) wire their outputs to the inupts of a 4ch mixer and connect the mixer’s output to the audio outs.
Then on the Panel-View place a widget (knob or fader) on the panel, learn it MIDI-wise with your MOD-wheel and connect it parameter wise with the volume parameter of the according channel of the mixer plugin. That’s it.
You could also use another widget to adjust the piano’s volume on the other channel (no midi learning needed for this one).

2 Likes

Hey schamass,

Danke dir! Thank you ;). I watched the expert talk from you on YouTube about gig performers - great stuff!

Everything worked. Could I also do this “backwards”? Different song, similar case: