Dave Boulden

Hi, I’m Dave Boulden and you may well have seen me floating around the forum, Facebook group and in the comments whilst watching Brett’s excellent videos on YouTube.

First a very brief bit of back-history: I have been playing keys since I was a teenager, with my first purchased synth being a Casio CZ-101 (though I did try restoring a half-built E&MM Spectrum monosynth before that, but it never really worked properly). I started in some originals bands with schoolmates (lots of fun with EDP Wasp, Yamaha CS5 and Roland Juno 6 synths), an 80’s duo with a mate in my 20s (we got shortlisted for Eurovision one year!) and subsequently co-formed a band that morphed into the one I’ve been playing with for 25 years: Marylebone Jelly.

My years in this band have seen me typically using two keyboards to gig with, mostly a combination of a Roland and a Korg and a brief appearance of a Yamaha Motif ES7. I eventually settled upon using Roland Fantoms as my upper tier keyboard (Fantom X7, G7, 7 and now 07) and a Korg on my lower tier, initially a Korg M3 and then a Mk1 Kronos 73.

A mixture of the Kronos beginning to wear out and the sheer weight of it all led me to make the switch to a controller & VST setup. Over the years I have tried out Brainspawn Forte, which I used to run on a second PC in my studio rack to give me more CPU power for synths when recording, and more latterly Cantabile and Camelot with more of a view towards live performance. As soon as I tried Gig Performer (at version 3), however, I knew I’d found the perfect live host for me, not least due to the possibility to extend it via GPScript and extensions which fits perfectly with my day job as a self-employed software developer.