Control audio interface from within GP3

I’m surprised that the input and output audio blocks in GP3 are not available for control using widgets.
For both the Fireface UFX and the X-USB (Behringer X-32) that I use, the ‘plugin view’ shows both the input as the output side as a bank of faders.

For the outputs that’s fine, I’d connect a master fader in the rackspace and leave the RME TotalMix parameter untouched at 0 dB. However, on the input side, I’d like to control the pre-amp gain and state of the phantom power for the microphone channels. Is that possible, or do I need the TotalMix or X32-Mix Apps active at the same time as GP3?

I do this using TotalMix and within GP I use GP Mixer plugins:

You can use OSC messages to control Totalmix from GP.

They are!
WidgetsAudioIOBlocks

Thanks @pianopaul, @David-san,
I’m new to OSC, but pretty technically inclined, so I’ll figure it out. I read the article about Robert Frazza using GP live for Stickmen in this post. That sounded straightforward so I was expecting an in-the-box solution. Is there a technical reason why this can’t be done as easily as assigning a widget to a plugin parameter (e.g. the audio interface doesn’t let GP know which parameters can be externally controlled as a plugin does), or is it a feature for a next release?

He wants to control some parameters of the interface itself like phantom switch etc.

That is correct. Every plugin certainly provides a list of parameters that can be controlled via host automation (i.e, accessible by the GP widget system).
The plugins that represent Audio I/O communicates with the standard audio driver provided by the OS. On OS X, it’s Core Audio. On Windows it’s typically ASIO. But those drivers do not expose audio interface specific controls (such as the RME firmware mixer stuff) and so there there is no way for Gig Performer to be aware of device specific functionality.