Stoffel's Home Studio

Hello all,

until about a year ago, I used a Korg Kronos 2-88 and a Roland A-800 Pro on stage (the Kronos is not so good for fast synthesizer solos with its hammer-action keyboard). The Kronos has a very classy sound, but is extremely large and heavy. Together with the flightcase it is almost 50 kg.

To get some relief when transporting it, I bought a MacBook Pro and ran it with MainStage. Unfortunately, MainStage is quite complicated to program and the computer was also overloaded relatively quickly.

Next, I tested Gig Performer 3 and found that the software is extremely reliable and very easy to program.
As an electronics engineer, I got into programming synthesizers at a very early age and developed a passion for creating and reproducing sounds. This is especially easy to do with Gig Performer.
The most used plugins by me are:

• Arturia V Collection 8
  • Pianoteq 7 (piano/e-piano)
  • Blue 3 (organ) and PSP Lotary (Leslie)
  • all plugins from Cherry Audio
  • many plugins from TAL (Togu Audio Line)

As central control I use at home as well as live two Roland A-800 Pro Keyboards each and the Elgato Stream Deck with a Presonus Studio 26c Audio Interface. So I only have to transport the MacBook, since everything is duplicated.

On stage, I also use a wireless Deger E-Pipe (electronic bagpipes), a Roland AX-Synth as a wireless MIDI controller (with Panda MIDI Beam), and a wireless start/stop switch to start the show intro (converted garage door opener).

The Roland keyboards have 61 keys, a lot of controllers, aftertouch and a lever, which I personally find easier to use than the usual two wheels. This may be because my first synthesizer was a Korg Poly 61 with joystick :wink:

The Steam Deck impresses with its versatility, its price as well as its ultra-rich programmability.
This is done via an app that can program the keyboard commands as well as the LCDs of the 15 keys.