STJØRN - Custom MIDI controller for Gig Performer based rig

After far too long of being ‘in the process of’ making a custom MIDI controller I have actually started!

Welcome STJØRN.

I have long wanted a MIDI controller to control a GP based rig that works how I want it to work. My live use needs both foot control (I’m a guitarist) over GP but also foot control of Ableton Live to control backing tracks and clicks. I also wanted the controller to display info on the tracks as a sort of HUD.

As mentioned, I have been planning this for - literally… - years and although the concept has remained the same the way to apply it has changed somewhat. The ‘final’ form that I have now started to build is actually quite a lot more simple than it started and theoretically could be achieved using an off-the-shelf controller, but still with some compromises over how I want it to work and so I am sticking with this!

I have started a project over on Hackaday.io to document the build - this can be found here:

If you are interested, please follow it and I will try and update pretty regularly. I will probably also post in this thread when there is an update. Hopefully it might inspire some of you in similar situations to have a crack at building your own controllers :slight_smile:. I would also love any feedback and suggestions on any part of it so feel free to fire away!

Splendid.

6 Likes

Best of luck :wink:
Intrigued by the name…
(STJØRN means ‘control’ in Icelandic)

Good luck with the project! I’ve been following one that someone local to me has done. Also well worth checking out.

Best of luck @speed12 . I’m sure this will be a well thought out controller

Ah cool, thanks for sharing - this looks to be using a Teensy microcontroller as well; it’s a great little (literally, it’s tiny!) board for these sort of projects as it has native USB MIDI which makes life very easy for programming!