Songs, backing tracks, and global q's

Hey all. I’m just getting into gig performer and trying to make the most of my trial to find if it is right for me. Little background, I am a guitarist in a cover band. I will be using this to control one guitar plugin by Neural DSP, and playing backing tracks for songs. I’ve tried a few different setups and just wanted to see if there are any better that I haven’t tried.

Now I have a rackspace with one instance of my plugin for each song. Rack variations and song parts change various things in that plugin (clean/dirty/solo/etc). Each rackspace also has an audio file player. This works fine, but it does take forever to load (not really a problem, just commenting).

I also tried having one rackspace for my guitar, as I don’t really need one for each song. Then I had multiple audio players so I could load all my songs. That didn’t seem to be the best option, managing 3-4 audio players with 8 tracks each was a bit cumbersome.

I also thought about having a rackspace for each song with just an audio player, then having the guitar on the global. That would also mean I only need the one instance of my guitar plugin. That wasn’t quite as user-friendly as having one plugin per rackspace (I hope that makes sense?), but of course it loads much faster.

Again, I know this is all stuff I will probably figure out on my own as I use it, but I want to make the most of my time while I can. This program seems wonderful but I can’t get over the nervousness of relying on a computer while playing live…

Thanks for any tips!

Hi @toddkc

welcome to the family.

Believe me, you can trust a computer - when it is the right one :wink:

3 Likes

Welcome @toddkc
Using separate rackspaces is a good option. It also leaves you open to incorporate other plugins with Neural on certain songs, or even another amp sim for certain songs.