Song Variation Automation

Hi all. I’m a guitarist who plays along with audio backing tracks. As in many cases, most of the songs have different parts that require different sounds and instrument settings. I wonder if there is a way to atomate the recalling of these song variations during the playback of the audio files (by using markers or sending internal PC midi messages or any other technique. I have achieve these in other platforms such as Sensomusic Usine. Is this possible in Gig Performer? It would be great since this is a more stable and lighter CPU software and the way it is designed fits my needs.

Thanks in advance

It’s common to use an external program such as Ableton Live to manage this and send GP the specific PC message for the song part, or a global ‘Next’ command (set up in the GP Options). That way you can have a track in Live/DAW for the audio and a midi track for your song part changes.

There was a discussion here that might help.:

2 Likes

Thanks for you reply. I also thought about doing something like what you describe using Ableton. I took a look to the discussion posted and there are good ideas but, frankly I would not want to use two different softwares for this. It would be great if GP could have a way to control midiclock messages as mtc, mmc and be able to send this messages not only outside the software but internally.

I am using scripting for automated variation changes
When the global play is pressed the on BeatChanged callback is triggered.

var BEAT : Widget

on BeatChanged(bar : integer, beat : integer, subbeat : integer)
if beat == 16 then
 SetVariation(1)
elsif beat == 32 then
 SetVariation(2)
elsif beat == 48 then
 SetVariation(3)
end

SetWidgetLabel(BEAT, “”+((beat)/4+1) +":"+(beat % 4 +1))
end

Using Ableton works extremely well and GP also has the Ableton ‘Link’ feature to ensure tempo is kept in sync.

It also works well in Ableton having a song per Scene.