Output levels

Hi all. Ive been using GP for 2 years now. Its an incredible piece of software. Now that I’m beginning to be familiar with it, theres one minor problem thats bugging me, and thats variable output volumes. I wondered if using a gentle limiter in the global rackspace might help. Im using a Steinberg UR24c audio interface in Windows 11. I have the output vol on the soundcard set between half and 3/4.

Help for what?
Are you facing too hot levels?

Some levels are too hot in the cut and thrust of a live gig, and others maybe not loud enough.

Yes a Limiter is a technical tool to avoid too hot levels
BUT: A limiter can drastically change the sound and can introduce distortion.

Better you work on consistent levels.

3 Likes

I have a limiter in place, but just for emergencies.

It raises an interesting question for me… Is the mix engine in GP a 32bit floating point mixer (as in pro tools or any other daw for that matter)? In which case, overloads along the signal chain aren’t the end of the world… just turn the output buss down (or limit at -1dBFS) and the signal won’t be clipped… Or do we need to be careful not to overload any part of the signal chain (as I always have anyway!) leaving plenty of headroom at every step? :thinking:

If not, then presumably in the above example, it would be pointless to limit the output if the clipping has happened on a mixer block earlier in the signal chain…

As I started using it straight away, before i completely knew how it worked, so of my earlier racks may indeed have some instruments overloading. I think ill have to go back into every rack and check. Thanks