Maintaining correct song position with Ableton Link

Hi,

I am new to GP in the last few days. I am particularly excited that is supports Ableton Link, and can send song position data to plugins that are hosted in GP which I can’t achieve in MainStage. My goal is to be able to use plugins such as LFOTool (by XFer Records) or various plugins by Sinevibes, which all do audio animation effects based on repeating patterns that are synched to the start of a bar.

I had some very positive, fast results by simply switching on Ableton Link. However after more realistic experimentation to simulate playback in a live gig, I have found that the song position in GP doesn’t stay in sync with Ableton when I cause Ableton to jump immediately to the start of a new song without a count-in. When Ableton jumps back to position 1 | 1 | 1 (and optionally changes tempo for the new song), GP immediately detects the tempo change but keeps free-wheeling at the same song position without resetting back to the start of the bar. Pressing stop then start in GP doesn’t solve it.

Does anyone know how to achieve what I’m trying to do here? The dream is to have audio effects or arpeggiators on my live keys patches that move in correct sync with the timing of the Ableton backing tracks. I’ve wanted that for years, and it looks like GP comes closest to that yet!

Cheers,

Josh

Do you mean scene?

@pianopaul yes, I mean scene.

I am using Gig Performer so switch and start scenes in Ableton Live by sending OSC messages to a ML4 Patch I made by myself.

So when I press Play on my S88 the global Play is triggered.
In scripting I have a callback which checks if the Playhead is enabled and sends an OSC message to Ableton Live to fire the selected scene.

When I change a rackspace I send a different OSC message to Ableton to select the correct scene.

This is working perfect for my use case.

And with LINK enabled the tempo is synched between Ableton Live and Gig Performer.