Limiter Plug-in?

I have been using meters to try to keep levels in check. I think it is working okay, but, I am wondering if I need a limiter plug in.

Do most people use a limiter to ensure that output sent out does not clip? If so, do most people put it in the global rackspace and run all rackspaces through it?

If so, any thoughts on this as an option? https://www.plugin-alliance.com/en/products/bx_limiter.html

Jeff

I use EMO-D5 from Waves, as it is very low on CPU and 0 ms latency.

1 Like

Do you know if it requires a dongle?

Waves does not use a Dongle.
My license is registered to my machine.

1 Like

Thanks.

I think I’ll pass on Waves. I don’t like that (as I read it), unless you purchase some other type of upgrade plan, I cannot install the plug in on a 2nd laptop.

I use a limiter in my global rack space that everything runs through, in fact I have a suite of “master” type effects I use in the global rackspace and use linked widgets to tweak their values (i.e. more/less stereo width, 3 band EQ, reverb etc) for each song rackspace I have in my gig file.

Currently I am using Unfiltered Audio Byome (a configurable multi-effect) from Plugin Alliance for this job.

1 Like

IMHO, a limiter is VERY recommended.*

latency IS an issue to watch, when dealing with limiters for realtime playing !
The Bx_limiter was my go to, but it has some latency.
I switched over to TDR Limiter 6 GE. Which was recommended here in the forum.
This has a “no Latency setting”.
Its on sale right now.

• to notes:
    there exist a few plugins that - under certain circumstances - kind of, can “explode”.
    I had it happen in several hosts, incl. in GP too.
    Its really like an explosion !!! in one forum, it happened to another guy, he suffered then afterwards,… at least for a longer time.
    It happened to me, when my headphones/speakers were not set loud.
    Happened to me several times, found out why and was able to avoid it since.
  • UNFUNNY