Lemur Bi-directional communication is now only one way

Hi, I’ve been using GP and Lemur for a couple of years without problems. Within the last 10 days, I’ve found that communication will still trigger Lemur from GP, but not the opposite. Thought I’d solved it a few days ago, when noting that the iPad’s Bluetooth had been left on. Problem reappeared the following day and I’ve been scouring manuals and the forum trying to find a fix, but to no avail. Have tried many methods to troubleshoot or resolve the issue, but am at wit’s end, especially since it had previously worked flawlessly. I’ve included some screen shots in hope that someone may be able to diagnose the issue. It must be user error, but I can’t determine anything obvious.

Try changing the entry in your iPad lemur settings from MichaelsMacbook pro to the actual ip address of your computer

Hi David, that was among the many things I’ve tried, but it made no difference.

THere’s no magic - something clearly changed.

Try downloading OSC Shark (http://sebastianruml.com/downloads/projects/OSCShark/OSCShark%20v0.0.1.dmg) and, after quitting Gig Performer, run OSC Shark and have it listen for incoming messages on the port 54344 and see if anything is being received

1 Like

The link was a blank page, but had earlier downloaded Wireshark. Didn’t read enough of the manual to specify a port number, but this was the result when I started a capture and moved a fader in Lemur, then in GP.

The port is displayed in the GP OSC settings and as mentioned above, it’s port 54344

Wireshark is far too general and I don’t see the port there either.

As for that link, you’re right - there’s something wrong with it. Try Hexler’s tool instead

https://hexler.net/protokol

I’d also downloaded Protokol earlier today and connected to port 54344. It doesn’t appear to receive any data from Lemur.