Layering Racks

Is it possible to layer two or more racks together? I’m still learning my way through MIDI, so I’ll explain what I’m trying to achieve.

In Cantabile, using an FCB1010, I have seven instruments each assigned to a different PC button. These are all running within the same plugin: Pianoteq. I then have another instrument running within a second instance of Pianoteq, it is assigned to its own PC button as an on/off switch function. This way I can call up any one of my 7 main instruments and then choose to overlay my separate instrument on top of it with the on/off PC button.

I know this must be easily doable in GP, but with the rack system I’m not sure what the best way to do it might be. Ideally I would like to have several instruments that could be layered (on/off) with any of my main instrument racks. I know I can add multiple instruments to a single rack, but then I’m not sure what the best way to turn them on/off might be, and if I could keep the same MIDI message to consistently turn on/off each instrument across all my racks.

Thanks in advance.

Numerous ways to do this but the easiest way to do it is with the use of a simple GP Script that responds to the position of a knob and sends the appropriate preset request into Pianoteq. You would then just create multiple variations of the rackspace with the knob set to a different preset on each variation. You could then have a second instance of Pianoteq in the same rackspace that’s basically on as needed.

I just created a script to do this and made a video of it so you can see what I mean.

Here’s a brief video showing it working.

Attached also is a simple gigfile with the rackspace that does this. Note - I’m using Pianoteq 6 in this rackspace.

PresetSelection.gig.zip (132.2 KB)

This is what the custom script looks like - really trivial.

screenshot_3210

That is very clever.
When a Plugin does not expose its presets, just save as preset in the plugin preset menu?
Does this work?