Guitar synthesist new to GP seeking advice

Hi everyone! I’m a guitar synth player that began with the ARP Avatar, in the late 70’s. Since I’m new to GP, I have a basic question concerning exp pedals, control switches, etc., to use as control for any widgets I decide on. For instance, if I decide to use up to 4 exp pedals, for various widget purposes, what would be the way to connect them to my MacBook Pro? For instance, here is a link to an interface for pedals and switches to be converted to midi. Is there a better piece, or is anyone using this brand? MIDI Expression
My original goal in utilizing GP, was to replace my Kemper, Boss SY1000, and Roland GR30, and GP looks like it’s the way to go, as I did purchase it, but since I’m just getting started, thought I would reach out to the users here to see what is being used from those with experience with similar hardware, Since I must use an audio interface for the laptop, early on, I’m leaning toward the SY1000 as the interface, as I’m not aware of anything else that provides guitar modeling, especially when using alternate tunings, and it opens a lot of options as an interface for separate strings (in DAW interface mode). I’ve started using it as such, and I must say the basic sound through GP and some reverb plug-ins, etc. is stunning. In fact I may actually consider selling my Kempers(2). The SY has only two controller inputs, but midi can be assigned to practically any parameter. Any suggestions for this GP beginner would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!!

@thebrushwithin See my post below

I use three midi expression pedals connected to a Morningstar controller. (Pictures in the attached)

The only thing you will really lose in this setup in alternate tunings but to me its worth it to not have to carry an extra hardware device.