Gig Performer 5.3.3 is Now Available

Gig Performer Pro and Essentials 5.3.3 are now available as a free update for all Gig Performer 5 license holders.

This release includes a major improvement to the licensing system, along with several minor enhancements.

Important Note About the Licensing System

In addition to various enhancements, this version of Gig Performer 5 will no longer require you to deactivate and reactivate Gig Performer in most cases following an operating system update.

However, you will need to activate this version once before using it. Therefore, before installing this update, we strongly recommend that you first deactivate your current version of Gig Performer to ensure that you don’t lose an activation.

Once you have deactivated your current version, proceed with the installation of this update.

The Gig Performer installer will guide you through the remaining steps.

Note: Your existing license key will still allow up to 5 concurrent activations.


Enhancements

  • Optimized memory handling in the MIDI File Player
  • Improved MIDI File Player synchronization
  • Included a slightly updated special build of Overloud TH-U for Gig Performer
  • Improved Actions compatibility between the Pro and Essentials versions

How to Update

Current Gig Performer 5 Pro users can update right from the application.

Go to Options → General → Check Now, then click Get Update.

Before installing version 5.3.3, make sure to deactivate your current Gig Performer 5 license first. Then, install Gig Performer as usual and activate it.

The full list of changes will be available at the Gig Performer Pro Release Notes Page or the Gig Performer Essentials Release Notes Page.

.

Own The Stage®
The Gig Performer® Team

Of course, make sure to keep your license information accessible! :slight_smile:

This post made me wonder. I always forget to deactivate GP5 before a system update (last thing on my mind). Invariably, every time I open GP5 after such an event, reactivation is required. So, have I been whittling down finite activations that I did not even know existed? Sorry if this is regarded a dumb question.

The system recognized that it was the same computer so it didn’t use up a new activation.

Thanks for explaining.

Is that why sometimes when I open GP it asks for my e-mail and license code? Or is that some other issue? I never knew this was a thing until now.

Very curious about the improvements to the MIDI player sync. I use exported MIDI files to pass MIDI to my pedalboard, and I find that I really need to keep my buffer size very low to ensure the messages stay reasonably synced with the backing track (nothing like going into a new section and have my guitar tone change after I’ve already hit the big downbeat chord). Will the update affect this at all?

It shouldn’t prompt you, once you install a new update and activate. :slight_smile:

It will not, but please create a new thread and describe in detail what is going on.

Done :+1:

When I check for updates in Pro, I receive a ‘You’re up to date! Gig Performer 5.2.2 is currently the newest version available.’ dialog and only see 5.2.2 on the download-requested page.

Has 5.3.3 not landed yet? Tnx!

Later today :slight_smile:
We’ll officially announce in tomorrow’s newsletter.

YESSSSS! And the License is still there - after a OSX Update - thanks for that!

Great
:100:

Hi. The GP 5.3.3 install on Windows 11 wants to install TH-U 2.0.15 along the way.

I already have a full TH-U license and installation, and I do not want it perturbed, so I cancelled the installation.

Please advise on the proper way to proceed. Thanks.

I am a little confused though. I forgot to deactivate gig performer on my main computer and simply installed the new version on top. I then activated gig performer after the setup. I had to. Have I now lost an activation? I have the previous gig performer version installed on two other computers. Two laptops. What is the activation status of those? Is the previous version on those two laptops still active? Will gig performer work on those two laptops now?

Are you on windows or mac?

I can’t speak to windows, but on mac if you click “customize”

You will be able to uncheck what is included.

Good info for the Mac! The install I describe above is on Win 11.

You can cancel the installation of TH-U and/or Synthmaster independently from the main GP 5.3.3 installation if you don’t need/want them.

Was there not a “Cancel” option when the dialog for the TH-U installer pops up?

OK, I see now that Cancel is not for the whole installation but just for the next-up component.

It is possible to do Cancel on TH-U and Synthmaster and eventually you get to GP itself.

Thanks.