Crash course to Drawbar Organs inside GP

Hello there!

While expanding my “pedagogical toolbox”, I quickly created a new self-study platform for GigPerformer centered around drawbar organs. I’m utilizing two free plugins found pre-installed within GP: the Lostin70s HaNonB70 and Overloud TH-U (VST version!). If you have deactivated (or even deleted) those plugins, I highly recommend activating them before loading this .gig-file.

Drawbar organ tutorial v1point5.gig (4.9 MB)

Old versions

Drawbar organ tutorial improved.gig (4.7 MB)

Drawbar organ tutorial.gig (3.7 MB)

The course has 14 parts, each inside a separate rackspace. You start it by going into the Panel view and selecting the first rackspace. Similarly to what I explained in another post, new controls are gradually added to the panels, so a total beginner doesn’t hopefully become too overwhelmed at the beginning. You start with just one set of drawbar controls and end up with a full set of basic tonewheel organ controls coupled with a guitar amp panel for some more “beastly” sounds.

A word about screen resolution: this gig file was created on a 13" laptop with display resolution 2560x1600. If you have a much bigger screen with very different resolution, things may look a bit scattered compared to the two screenshots below. I apologize for the inconvenience.

I hope you enjoy the course and maybe even learn something from it! Feedback is warmly welcome!

15 Likes

Quick update:

A friend of mine completed the course and pointed out a couple of bugs and oversights in my file, so I improved the .gig-file and uploaded a new version, now visible in the opening message.

New version includes better English, slightly better layout and now the plugins are located in the Global Rackspace, controlled via the widgets in the local rackspaces. This should shorten the loading time a little bit (only one plugin instance instead of 14).

3 Likes

Thank you for sharing :slight_smile:

1 Like