Can't HEAR Gig Performer Patches while Recording Guitar in Logic Pro X

Hi:
I’ve been using Gig Performer for a few years and love it.
I have just downloaded and installed the latest BlackHole software.

But I’ve never been able to HEAR my GP3 effects while I am recording my guitar.

The Physical patches are:
Guitar into Focusrite 2i2, into iMac/Gig Performer 3 with effects, in to Logic Pro X 10.7.4 back out to Focusrite 2i2 into headphones.

I set my Logic Pro X Audio Preferences to:
Output Device: Scarlett 2i2
Input Device: BlackHole 2 Ch (or 16 or 64 channel)

I set my Gig Performer 3 Audio Settings to:
Output Device: BlackHole 2ch (or commensurate 16 or 64 channel)
Input Device: Scarlett 2i2

I have tried monitoring the guitar audio through both my Scarlett 2i2 headphone jack and my iMac’s headphone jack yet, while I can RECORD the GP3 with effects on the new track, I cannot hear the track while I am playing with GP 3 effects until Playback. This is exactly what the Support commentary states but they decline to offer a solution.

How do I hear my GP3 guitar effects going into Logic Pro with GP 3 effects while recording?

Thanks so much. The sun will rise, the birds will sing, the fog will burn off and the merry lad will play to his happy princess once again. Only if. Cheers.

My guess is that you’re hearing the guitar directly from your audio interface, rather than from the output of gig performer. You can test this by disconnecting the final effects from the GP audio interface and I bet you will still be able to hear your guitar

1 Like

Wouldn’t it make sense to aggregate your audio interface and Blackhole (link)? That way you could hear the outputs (NB: or record them using Gig Performer 3’s recording feature, instead of Logic).

2 Likes

I’ll definitely check that but would I be right in thinking I need to set up an “Aggregate Device” so I can have Gig Performer output to BOTH my headphones (Scarlett 2i2) and to Logic Pro?