Which VST Bass AMP is the best?

in my case its NOT about metal, grunch, or distortion !
but i kept the title open.

in my case is it about slapping with the Bass or otherwise a more Percussive Tone,
to get that round full tone heard from good 70s Records.
I´m not necessary for all clean…but definitly not up to metal.
Dynamic and frequenzy response might be the keywords,…and the shapeability

i just got me from Plugin Alliance with their 29/39$ deal the Ampeg STV3 pro and the Ampeg V4B.
When i demoed both was i shure the V4B is it, bought it with the 29$ deal,
but had a second look at the STV3 pro and found out that this one is way better and makes for me the V4B nearly kind of pointless.

But i´d like to know if there is any other Bass AMP plugin i should consider to check and demo ?

my plan is now to make my own sample collection with some bass slap tones,
to load into a groovebox-sampler or so.

( i was a bassist, but had to quit due to an accident 17 years ago, so i´m kind of out of the game.
i´ve not played the last 17 years…very rarely…i really have to be carefull what i do,
but i´d like to get the best possible Bass amp setup, …i´m now hooked again…
should work out for some sample recording…i still can slap to some degree )

I use IK Multimedia MODO Bass, and play it with my guitar using MidiGuitar2. This is an example I found in a funk style. They are using automation or midi triggering to switch the different play styles (finger, pick and slap) during the playing.

They were giving away AmpliTube SVX 1 bass amps/effects for free a few weeks ago. But you can get SVX 1 and SVX 2 for $40 this weekend:
https://www.audiodeluxe.com/products/virtual-instruments/ik-multimedia-ampeg-svx-1-2-bundle

1 Like

It is not cheap but very versatile
Mark Studio 2 from Overloud