Using a MIDI controller's button to jump to a Rackspace

Hello, I am new to Gig Performer and do not have a lot of experience with midi control/program messages.
I have 2 MIDI controllers, a Studio Logic SL 88 (keyboard) and a Korg NanoKontrol Studio (midi controller).
I can change between Rackspaces using a jog wheel on my Studio Logic SL88 which also changes programs within the keyboard such as sound names and pedal control settings etc.( for example program 1 is Piano, 2 is Rhodes, 3 organ etc.)
My end goal is to:
1- Be able to assign any of the 32 buttons on the Korg NanoKontroler to Rackspaces in order to jump to a specific program (rackspace)
2- And in turn, send midi changes back to the Studio Logic SL 88 so that the program change is reflected in the keyboard.

For example if I press button 3 on the Korg NanoKontrol Studio midi controller, Gig Performer will change to Rackspace 3 but also have
Studio Logic SL 88 change to program 3.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

1 Like

As a start, please read this blog and make yourself familiar with the basic concepts: Gig Performer | How to change sounds and control plugins from your MIDI controller

1 Like

I have gone thru the basics but it looks like I do not have the option to change the type of messages on my Korg NanoKontrol Studio for the buttons, looks like all the only assign type is CC, no PC to make program changes for the buttons. Will this limitation on the midi controller prevent me from using keys to select Rackspaces is is there a workaround?

Have you downloaded the Korg Kontrol editor? The screenshots of the editor show labels like “Note/CC/PC Number”, which indicate that the buttons can be changed to send PC messages.

I have, the only options for the buttons are these 3: Control Change, Note and No Assign

You could try looking at this gig file. It might need to be adapted.

It does not look like it worked, when I run MIDI monitor in GP and buttons are pressed, I keep getting CC messages