Transition from Mainstage to Gig Performer

Hi, I’m evaluating GP as an alternative to Mainstage which I have been using for +5 years. One of my concern is how to handle the transition. I’m thinking, during the transition period, while converting songs, I could use Mainstage simultaneously with GP and address it as an external MIDI device from GP. I “proof-of-concept-tested” it in the GP trial and it did work as expected.
Have any of you been using this setup during transition from Mainstage, or even as a longterm solution to access the plugins in Mainstage that are only available from within Mainstage?
Cheers / Mattias

When I was switching from MainStage to Gig Performer I did a 100% migration and then used Gig Performer.
I never thought of using Gig Performer and MainStage in Parallel.

2 Likes

I wrote an article on this topic years ago to address this specific question but given where GP is today, I’m not sure it’s worth the trouble any more.

2 Likes

Also, here is an article somewhat along the lines of what you probably did for how to use hose proprietary plugins.

4 Likes

Just do it :slight_smile: I also switched 100% to GP and never used MS since then. I also did not have the need to run both in parallel. For the tricky things I made some screenshots etc. and was fine with this.

And yes: you have to replace the Apple Instruments from MS/Logic as they are not available in GP or any other DAW…

4 Likes

Hi @tripleB … I was just about to thank David for posting a link to his article about leveraging proprietary DAW instruments in Gig Performer. (His post is the one right before yours.) I haven’t finished reading it yet but you may want to have a look.