Surface Pro 10 with 32 or 64gig ram

I’ve been a Surface Pro user through versions 2, 3, 4, 6 and currently 8. MS have a business version that is not available to the public (at least here in new Zealand) that offers more ram, and the about to be released SP 10 has upped this to 64gig. My current SP 8 has a maximum of 16gig of ram.

I’ve always found the Surface line to quite capable and have had success using Gig Performer since I started in 2014. I’ve liked the portability, small footprint and the (imagined?) integration of software and hardware as per Apple’s philosophy. However, to get 32 or 64gig of ram, you need to buy a business version which MS don’t sell to the public. I would buy one in flash if I was able.

So, to up the specs of my next machine, I need to look elsewhere and not to Microsoft. I really don’t want to do this and the Surface line will always be special to me. I have two questions:

1. Is there anyway I can beat the system and get hold of a business Surface?
  2. If not a surface, then what is the nearest equivalent in terms of performance, portability and
    the integration of hardware and software?

I just checked the German Microsoft site, and there was no problem to choose a business configuration with i7 and 64gb.
Could be pre-ordered for a bargain of 3300€…
(available from April 9.)

1 Like

With such ‘bargain’ prices, people may want consider switching to macOS :slight_smile:

3 Likes

You can buy an i7 13th gen NUC fully loaded 64GB RAM and a portable monitor for less than half that price.

2 Likes

$NZ5900 might be slightly outside my budget. I might have to look elsewhere for alternatives. What equivalent could I get in a Mac?

Can you find me a reference please.

Sure, here’s one.
https://www.amazon.com/Intel-NUC13ANHi7-i7-1360P-Graphics-Windows/dp/B0C77Z6G34?th=1

You should see if refurbished Intel Macs are available - those should be significantly less expensive.