Stuck note nightmare - script fix?

Hi!

So GP has the promise of being such an awesome tool. I’m in a pro situation where I need a variety of sounds, some complex mapping and even some single key chords so I can play complex parts with my other hand. And I did it… but - I solo a lot on my Hammond B3 sound and about one in ten of my dramatic slides/gliassandos leaves a stuck note behind. I’ve tried different controllers from cheap to expensive, powered USB hubs, direct to PC connections, shorter cables, expensive cables: no luck. I have set up a panic button but sometimes on a loud stage I don’t notice it but my band often does. So I’m wondering if there’s a scripting fix.

Would it be possible to detect a smear of notes when they happen and set a timer to kill the stuck ones if they happen? GPScript is not my language but I have some experience with other computer coding from the day job. Any thoughts?

The problem is, what is a stuck note?

Lots of pro users here doing Hammond slides, not getting stuck notes. What plugin are you using?

Can you try doing the same thing with a different plugin and see what happens?

I once wrote a scriptlet to handle this kind of issues… maybe it helps.

If it doesn’t, you could also try to use a rackspace script, which worked more reliable in some cases (but the scriptlet would be more flexible).

I had stuck notes for many years. Since I started to use Native Instruments Kontrol 61 mkII I had no problem anymore.
With Arturia, M-audio and Alesis controllers it was a nightmare.

1 Like

It sounds like you’ve done a lot of trouble shooting to try and solve the stuck notes issue at it’s source… but I can tell you I never have this issue and I do a lot of percussive and palm slides in my playing and I would strongly suggest you continue to problem solve vs. try to add a script based solution because in the end it might not work 100% of the time and any amount of stuck notes is not going to sound musical.