Strategies for Initialization and Predictability

I’m putting together the pieces for a performance (someday) and I’m running into some practical issues that I expect many keyboard players have faced. I’m primarily a guitarist. The setup is mic, guitar, a MIDI backing/sutomation source (from Logic when composing or the MIDI player, after it’s locked down), and live keys. The challenge is to get no unexpected jumps when rack spaces change, new parts come in etc.

For instance, a keyboard part comes in, the mod wheel, knob or fader needs to be in a given position, and… oops. Or I played with something, and when the part changes… oops.

Regarding physical control positions, do you add a note to the local rack space that says, “BEFORE HITTING PLAY, SET MOD WHEEL TO ZERO!!!”

FEATURE REQUEST: A page from a note pad or a sticky note Widget that can handle multiple lines of text.

Note that I have all of my mixing controls in the Global Rackspace. The idea is to start with everything mixed well, in theory. But let’s say the location, acoustics, or my mood calls for adjustments to the mix. From the keyboard, I can tweak the levels. But this is dangerous. Let’s say I inadvertently pull a fader to zero. The next song starts and a voice could be missing. For this, I’ve created a song part and rackspace called NORMALIZE that sets everything to unity. (I’ve also created a STANDBY setup that mutes the outputs and a READY setup that turns them back on. These don’t touch my mix.)