[Solved]First time show woes with GigPerformer

Using GigPerformer 3 here:

I’ve been working for a couple of months to get enough of our setlist converted from my old host to GigPerformer to play a show. I thought I had everything wrapped up and ready to go last night for tonight’s show. Unfortunately, I ran into multiple issues at setup and sound check this morning that I am forced to use my old host tonight and not GigPerformer. I’m very disappointed this is the case given the effort I’ve put in so far. Moving to a host that is reported to be more stable is a prime motivator for me making this effort.

Symptoms:

The first problem I ran into was during our first sound check song. about 40 seconds in, all my virtual instruments stopped responding. I looked at my monitor and the Gig Performer screen had turned a shaded red with the message that the audio interface had become disconnected or stopped responding and that I either needed to plug it back in or go into options and change it. Note that this is a hardware rig that has performed well for 3 years now. I ended up shutting down the PC, unplugging and replugging all USB cables plugged into the host, rebooting and reloading GigPerformer. This ‘solved’ the initial problem, but then came the next issue.

Second issue was my USB/midi connection to my Korg Kronos appeared to stop working. No virtual instruments in the rack responded to key events in any rackspace. Again, a reboot and reload before THAT problem seemed to be solved. I stuck a midi monitor in between my Kronos midi in plugin and synthmaster. There were no note events showing as received. Additionally, I have a sequence that runs on the Fantom X7 that goes through GigMaster to route to the Kronos. Midi note out events were being sent by the Fantom X, and midi monitor showed them making it into the host, but nothing appears to have been coming out of the midi out plugin to the Kronos. Once again, a reboot ‘fixed’ this problem