RME Babyface Pro overload

I’m very new with the Babyface Pro, so am asking for advice here.
I took it out to a gig recently and halfway through the first song, my computer screen went red as GP lost connection. I noticed that the Babyface had overloaded and was showing red lights. I havent tried it since, but hope that it is ok. Ive probably pushed the levels too high within GP. I know some kick drum samples hit the red at times, and occasionally other instruments hit the yellow. Would all of these high signals have summed together to cause the shut down? Should I look for a limiter plugin to prevent this happening again?
Any advice here will be much appreciated.

Try plugging a compatible power adapter into the babyface and see if this helps. I do with mine as i run alot of stuff from my usb ports.

the audio levels should never be responsible for an audio interface shutdown - especially not an RME interface.

As @onkeyz suggested - your issue is most likely your USB hub (if you are using one). Make sure it’s a good quality one and powered. All kinds of issues can surface because of a poor USB hub and one of these interfaces.

Also - what are the sample rate / buffer size you were using (just curious)

The only real issue I had with my RME UCX, was when using a bad quality third party USB cable. As I make no difference between good and bad USB cables, from now, I use the RME USB cable even if it is a bit long for my application. I never figured out that a USB cable can be faulty, but it is the case.

1 Like