RAM "headroom"?

I’m fairly new to GP & have been knee deep in programming Rackspaces for the bands I’m in. I have 16 GB of RAM and looked at the task manager to see how much I was using. GP is using about 11 GB of my RAM, with the total amount being used by the Laptop is 13.5 GB. Of that 16 GB of RAM, how close I get to using it before the system becomes unstable?

thanks,

greg

Hi @mcgooze Greg - the amount of RAM you need is highly individual depending on your plugins and sample libraries in use and how you use them - and a topic often asked and discussed in the Community. I would highly recommend that you use the Search function for “Ram” and read through the topics and replies. I would be very surprised if you didn’t find your answer there and if not, would help you narrow your question for your specific case. There is also a free e-book on how to optimize your PC for live performances with GP in the Knowledge Base section of the GP website. The link is HERE.

3 Likes

Thanks. I’ve already gone thru that book & optimized my system. My question was more general Windows as it relates to GP… as in, am I likely to be on the verge of a crash if I’m utilizing all 16 GB of my RAM or is a fine-tuned system able to handle that?

The question may be a moot point as I’m figuring out ways to use the Global Rackspace to be more efficient with memory.

1 Like

I think that @bigalminal has experimented with using Gig Performer with near to 16 GB of RAM usage.

See here: A question regarding ram amount

1 Like

Unlikely it will be a ‘crash’ event because it’s the audio processing that will ding you, all things being equal. You will know when it happens because you will get audio pops, clicks, dropouts and/or other artifacts. That said, there definitely are ways to improve memory usage which always helps. Good luck!