Possible Low Latency Audio Solution

Hi All.
I thought I would share a bit of what I am doing. I just started playing around with Gig Performer 4 along with my Waves eMotion LV1 system. I am able to route audio into Gig performer running GP4 on the same machine as my LV1 Host. I can tap after preamp, prefader, post, etc. I can also insert it in the track as a plugin.

Basic I/O latency with LV1 is .85ms. It’s basically ZERO added latency.

Alternatively, I could run GP4 on its own machine, and still have near zero RT latency in and out of GP with soundgrid protocol.

I am still wrapping my head around all the possibilities, but the most important part is that I works well and doesnt add latency.

Maybe this would work with something as simple as Dante virtual soundcard for a single box solution? I own a license, so maybe sometime I will give it a try…unless someone else already has?

1 Like

Hi @GeoMax, welcome to the family.

1 Like

Thank You! Glad to be here :slight_smile:

1 Like

Let me know something more…
Is this mixing solution a pure software or an hardware station?
Waves sites shows different packages, not so clear.
To have such a low latency and software complexity, which hardware are you using?
Vast majority of guys here is used to fight latency with a normal computer (Apple or Windows) and your example seems extremely intriguing…

1 Like

Sure. Here is a bit more detail.

I run Waves LV1, which is a software based live sound solution, integrated with Waves hardware and plugins.

For hardware, my setup includes (2) Digigrid IOX, and a SoundGrid Server Extreme (v3).
That provides 24 preamps and 12 line outs, as well as 8 Stereo headphone outputs. Using myMon, my bandmates and I can control our own IEM mixes using our iPhones or ipads.

My Host machine(windows 10 computer) runs Waves LV1 software. The Waves specific plugs are offloaded to the Extreme server over ethernet.