Optimised laptop recommendations

Greetings all. Newbie here.
I am an 8-year Mainstage user. All I use it for is soft synths and it occasionally crashes at a gig - even now! I have gone down the Mac Mini i7 quad core path in the past and it is nearing that time when I need to buy a new Laptop for personal use, work and music, so my question is more about the laptop side of things. Is there a general consensus and any tools to totally strip away anything superfluous to making music on a Win10 laptop? Even considering a total disk partition with a separate Win10 installation if that helps (but surely thats going too far?). Macs have the ability to set a location - home or Gig for example, so I’d like to start off with a new Laptop - a single beast that does everything I need for work stuff and then (separately) have a configuration/user set up for music. Anyone doing this with GP successfully?

Hello simonearly, welcome here

I have used Wndows for a long time for music, and my best “no instability” config is as follows:
A rather old but valiant laptop (lenovo thinkpad T430) / Intel I5 3320M / 500Go ssd / 8 Go of RAM.
A dual boot system:
-1 dedicated partition system with windows 10 x64: audio exclusively.
-1 partition system with Windows too for everything else.
-1 partition for documents (sound libraries, plugins, projects, photos, viruses…)

As I am still evaluating GP in trial mode, I haven’t had time to push my laptop to its very limits by using a lot of plugins to see the cpu charge.

My test rackspace : Midi Guitar 2 (converting audio guitar to midi in real time) + DB-33 Air + IK Amplitube + u-he podolski + 7 FX + 6 gain controls + 5 hardware mapped midi controllers + 1 audio player filled with 6 lanes.
RAM used: 1.2 Go CPU: 20% max.

Oddly, Windows task manager always displays half of GP cpu charge, for a maximum of 12% :heart_eyes: