Novice hardware rack questions

I’m just getting started with a soft rig. Most of the keyboard software side is done (v1, anyway) thanks in great part to GP. I’ve never built a hardware rack, but with the wiggly-ness of the USB connections, it seems to me that a rack would be a good thing to do. Are there any suggestions on how to do this (cheaply and lightly, especially)?

So the rack would only have an audio/MIDI interface (Behringer UMC404HD) with wallwart, a USB hub with wallwart, maybe a DI (Or do I not need that? Would it be beneficial to use the DI to run a guitar or bass through my interface and soft-amp it, or is the DI unnecessary when you go through the audio interface? I’ve not really started the guitar/bass side yet), and something to plug the wallwarts into. To cover what I may have going in and out, I’d have fewer than 6 USB lines running into the hub, one USB out, one MIDI in, one or two 1/4" audio in (if it goes into a DI, otherwise I guess the UMC404HD goes in the front of the rack and I plug directly into that?), and audio outs.

I read the post from @dhj about using Neutrik USB connectors, which sounds like a great idea, given the wiggly-ness of my connections. Can you just buy a 1U patch panel and put a hodgepodge of connectors in it? Where would I get that? Or is there some other easy alternative that doesn’t necessarily use a standard rack.

Also, do I need a power conditioner?

Oh, I should add that I’m not gonna tour with this or anything like that, although it will gig out some. The point is more to just organize and make moving it easier, without a major concern for protection. I just want more plug and play and less likelihood of problems with loose USB connections.

I can’t comment on all your questions but some ideas only:

For my laptop and audio interface on stage which is not rack-mount, I use a rugged industrial grade USB cable like this:

The plugs fit quite tight into the sockets of my laptop, never had any problems.