MIDI in not working

I’ve been using GP for several years now and I’m having a problem that I’ve never encountered. I’ve been away from my keys for a few weeks and now MIDI In is not working with one of my keyboards.

I have PC88 sending MIDI through a Focusrite 2i4. The Focusrite shows midi activity and GP shows MIDI activity when I play the PC88. However, when I insert a MIDI in block, I get no activity in the MIDI in block. It doesn’t matter if I use an OMNI in or a FOCUSRITE in…I get nothing in the MIDI in block.

I can play on my other two keyboards and I get activity in the MIDI in block if using the OMNI in, but nothing from the PC88.

I’m probably missing something obvious, but this is an issue in a brand new gig file or in several old files that worked previously, and I’ve not experienced this before.

I’ve checked the MIDI ports and they are activated. I’ve checked the Rig Manager to make sure that the MIDI devices are associated properly. I’ve also removed and inserted MIDI blocks. I’m stumped.

I just got the latest update to GP4 and still no MIDI activity.

If anyone can help point me in the right direction, it would be greatly appreciated.

Hi,

Can we see a minimalist gig file that you are using. Maybe just with your PC88 through Focusrite.

Maybe also some screen shots of your Rig Manager and MIDI ports

Steve

Please open your global MIDI window and confirm that the keyboard in question is in fact generating the expected MIDI messages.

In this case it could be an hardware issue.

1 Like

Or you could have a gig script blocking the input in your gig file which is why I was looking for a copy of a gig file that exhibits the problem.

Steve

1 Like

I think when no message is shown in the global MIDI window, then it is a hardware issue.

2 Likes

I think if you have a callback that blocks the event and you don’t inject MIDI back into the source, it will not show up on the Global MIDI Monitor but I may be wrong.

Steve