Linking GP tempo to Ableton tempo

Just curious if there is a way to link GP tempo to Ableton easily?
Ableton has that “follow tempo” feature that takes bpm info from an external mic near a kick and snare.
I’ve used the feature, and it is really awesome when you’re using midi sequences, as they stay in time with the live drums (instead of the other way around)
Anyhow… I’m still fairly new to GP, so maybe someone has some magic sauce for this that they can share?
Thanks!

Yes, you push the button called LINK :slight_smile:

screenshot_6642

3 Likes

More information here: Gig Performer | How to synchronize Gig Performer's tempo to an external MIDI clock or Link-enabled products

Derp… :neutral_face::joy:
One of those “too obvious to notice” things!
Thanks!

2 Likes

well - came home to try it out, and unfortunately, Ableton Live Lite will not allow it to be linked when it is in “follow tempo” mode.

In other words, you can link to GP, or you can follow tempo. it’s an “either/or” situation.

So unless there’s some other way around this, I guess it’s not an option at all. Rats.

Yes, Link, Tempo Follower, and External Sync are mutually exclusive; the Link and the External Sync switches are disabled when Tempo Follower is enabled. Live can still send MIDI clock information to external devices when Tempo Follower is enabled, but it cannot receive it.

Yes - that’s what I found out when I got home and cracked the manual.
At the moment, I’m still unable to get any tempo/clock info from Ableton unless the two are “LINKED”
The info I’ve found in the GP and Ableton manuals hasn’t gotten me there.

If you want to sync GP with Live in « follow tempo » mode, you will need to use the (older) MIDI clock message. In Live send the MIDI clock sync to a virtual MIDI port received by GP. It works perfectly.