Last night's first GP gig (and my 3rd gig ever)

So, I am going to try to make this not a rant. I do love Gig Performer, I think it is amazing on many levels, its exactly what I want. I’m going to keep using it despite what I just experienced with it. Yet, last night made me wish I’d programmed my hardware instead.

I’ve spent the last 3 months building rackspaces and practicing to audition for a popular local band. Their keyboardist left so this is a HUGE opportunity to get into a regular gigging band with lots of great bookings already for the year All the others I’ve joined start spinning up and fizzle out for one reason or another — not that I haven’t learned things from that, or gained from some of the intense practice that went along with preparing for gigs (that never happened lol). So this is it. Pivotal moment in my music journey, and I’m feel I’m comfortable enough to use Gig Performer. I’ve got 30 years of experience in troubleshooting IT workstations. I’ve got a backup. Hell I’ve got 2 backups. Let’s go!

Anyway enough backstory — so here’s what happened.

I practiced hard yesterday with no problems. I saved my GP file, I shut the application down properly. I restarted Windows once to make sure no sneaky Windows updates were going to happen or anything of that sort - just a clean reboot to make sure it was likely to boot when I arrived at the venue. I shut it all the way down, packed up my rig, and arrived 20 minutes later to the gig.