Kronos user new to Gig Performer and VST in general

Hello - I just joined the forum after learning about gig performer and seeing some of the videos.

I’m a software developer (using a mac) during the day and in my off hours, I’m a gigging musician in two cover bands. For the past couple years I’ve been gigging with a Nord 88 on the bottom and a Korg Kronos 61 on top. The Korg is used to cover several 80s songs using a lot of commercial patches (Audora, NarfSounds, bbkeySounds) which are pretty accurate.

The reason I’m here is because the Kronos is exhibiting some hardware problems which has started manifesting at gigs (losing the usb midi connection so it can’t change patches, and suddenly lowering the sound output, which requires a reboot to fix). That and the fact that Korg no longer sells the Kronos and doesn’t seem to have a worthy replacement - has led me to looking seriously at taking a VST approach to replace it.

For the first phase I’m looking to just replace the Korg and will continue to use my Nord. I use a key largo as a mixer and that supports USB-based audio output which can be mixed in and sent out so that’s one option. I also have a scarlett i4i available, not sure if that would be a better alternative. I use ForScore on my iPad to manage the set lists across both bands - it sends out midi program change commands to all my keyboards as songs are selected. I plan on continuing to use that and have it select gigPerformer songs that way (similar to what I saw someone else do with band helper)