Foot controller recommendation

I’m new to GP and trying to figure out how best to set things up. I’m using a Nektar T6 keyboard controller, but am looking at how to switch between song parts with my foot. What are some recommendations for a simple foot controller purchase just for switching songs and song parts?

So many…what’s your budget?

I tried using the Keith McMillen SoftStep for a while but I found that unless you can position it so you can see it, it can be very difficult to push the right pad.

Roland and Berlinger have decent foot controllers (including expression pedal) but they’re heavy.

I’ve been using a Nektar PACER with my bands but it’s also very heavy, unfortunately.

You might want to look at the offerings from Sweetwater

https://www.sweetwater.com/c513--Foot__and__Pedalboard_MIDI_Controllers

I’m not too worried about budget, but at the same time, I don’t want to pay for a bunch of extra features I don’t need. Can I get away with 2 simple UP/DOWN controls or do I need something more elaborate?

That depends on your needs. If having the previous and the next song part accessible works for your use case, you can just use two simple pedals. If you want to have access to multiple different songs (or multiple parts of the current song) with just one pedal press, you’ll obviously need a foot controller with more pads/pedals.

I would recommend for you to think about what you specifically want to do (as in I need a pad that does…). I’m pretty sure that whatever use case you come up with, you can realize it with GP and any type of MIDI controller. So after you know how many pads you need and what your other requirements are (space, weight, setup time, connection type, …), go look for concrete products.

OK, I went with the Nektar Pacer. I welcome any suggestions from folks who use this setup. Thanks!

I use a single preset and I just configured each button to be a different CC number with down and up values being 127 and 0 respectively.