Drum tracks

I’ve been using GP for over a year now and most of my usage is pretty basic. I set up racks of various sounds to use playing live at church.

One of the things I’m interested in doing at home is playing along with a drum tracks/loops. I currently have NI Komplete 11 which includes Battery and also several drum VSTs in Kontakt.

Since my previous synth/keyboard experience was mostly hardware based and early PC software sequencing (think early synth workstations and Cakewalk for DOS) I’m still fairly new to the world of VSTs, DAWs, et al.

I’m looking for some suggestions as to how I can use GP to trigger drum tracks to play along with. I’ve gotten the VST and hard synth basic set up pretty well figured out, but not sure how to make this next step.

If anyone can point me in the right direction, I’d appreciate it.

Thanks!

Do you want to trigger audio loops or do you want to trigger midi sequences?

You could also be interested in MDrummer from MeldaProduction which is still 50% off for a few… hours ?
https://www.meldaproduction.com/MDrummer

2 Likes

I’m thinking audio loops.

Am considering something similar…programming drum loops to use instead of a metronome for practice.

I’ll use my DAW to create the loops with stepped BPM settings (e.g. in 5 BPM increments) using a drum VSTi and drum MIDI loops. I’ve got all kinds of drum MIDI (blues, reggae, rock, jazz, etc.), so I can have some variation.

Short loops: 4, 8, 12 (gotta cover the 12-bar blues) and maybe 16 bars, with a one or 2 beat fill at the end.

I’d stick with fully quantized for practice.

For making practice loops, you don’t need Superior Drummer or Addictive Drums. The kits you have will work fine.

But look for some drum MIDI in style(s) you’re interested in.

Just pay attention to the mapping. There’s GM (General MIDI), and then there are VSTi-specific mappings.

I’ve used several different approaches for this.