CPU Usage Questions. Solutions and Comparisons

So I have got my gig file together running spendidly on my MacBook Pro (M1 Max). A guitar player using Midi Guitar 2 (fabulous by the way) with 128 buffer setting (could go to 256 but can feel a difference I think)

I’ve taken that same gig file and loaded it up on my iMac Pro (a beast of a machine or so I thought). After reconfiguring audio wiring it also was running great.

Then I loaded up a rackspace for Jungleland. 5 Instances of Zenology (2 Sax, 1 organ, 1 strings and 1 violin) as well as Mercurial Audio Ampbox and a number of other Global Effects in the Global Rackspace.

CPU went to almost 50% and then when I started playing, it would glitch unusably hitting levels of 80-98%. (My MacBook Pro peaks out at 35% on this same preset)

I went through the following solution attempts and thought I’d provide my experience.

1. Reduced buffer to 256. Still unusable but CPU did lower a bit. L
  2. Turned ON Predictive loading with no real difference as I figure that is more a function of RAM vs CPU.
  3. Reconfigured my rackspace of 4 variations (each of which had 5 instances of Zenology) to 4 rackspaces with 1 variation (each of which has 1 or 2 instances of Zenology that were needed for the variation. Then used Song parts to recreate the song. THIS WORKED.

So my questions are does this make sense? and if so Why does switching rackspaces reduce the load so significantly .

(Also a promotional advert for Apple Silicon for those on Intel. It’s worth the jump)

(And a second promo for MG2 for you guitar players. Here’s a quick clip.)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ckFPH7dnRBc&t=2s

MM

You answered your own question.
The old rackspace had 5 instances of Zenology, and the new rackspaces each have fewer. Only the current rackspace’s plugins contribute to CPU load.

2 Likes