Compartmentalizing large scripts?

Is it in any way possible to compartmentalize scripts, using something akin to @import like CSS stylesheets? I thought maybe the tabbed scripting workflow was designed for just this, but I soon discovered you can only have one “active” script at a time.

The reason being, some scripts can get pretty long and difficult to navigate; it would be nice if you could have code snippets that you go to often and inject them into your script using just a single line or some such.

I am not an experienced coder, which is probably why my scripts end up unnecessarily long!

What do your scripts do? Do you have a lot of repetition? Can you post some examples ?

Sure! For example, I use widgets to control OSC parameters on a Behringer Wing digital desk.

var mike_vox, jg_vox, andrew_vox, jimmy_vox, ja_vox: OSCMessage
var mike_vox_ch, jg_vox_ch, andrew_vox_ch, jimmy_vox_ch, ja_vox_ch, osc_dest_port, verb_bus, delay_bus, verb2_bus, delay2_bus: Integer
var mike_vox_fader, fantom_bank, fantom_program: Widget
//VerbSends
var mike_verb_snd, jg_verb_snd, andrew_verb_snd, jimmy_verb_snd, ja_verb_snd: Widget
osc_dest_ip: String

Initialization
mike_vox_ch = 1 
jg_vox_ch = 2
andrew_vox_ch = 3
jimmy_vox_ch = 4
ja_vox_ch = 5
verb_bus = 13
delay_bus = 14
verb2_bus = 15
delay2_bus = 16
osc_dest_ip = "127.0.0.1"
osc_dest_port = 8001
OSC_SetAddress(mike_vox, "/ch/"+mike_vox_ch+"/")
OSC_SetAddress(jg_vox, "/ch/"+jg_vox_ch+"/")
OSC_SetAddress(andrew_vox, "/ch/"+andrew_vox_ch+"/")
OSC_SetAddress(jimmy_vox, "/ch/"+jimmy_vox_ch+"/")
OSC_SetAddress(ja_vox, "/ch/"+ja_vox_ch+"/")
End

//Reverb Sends
On WidgetValueChanged(newValue: Double) from mike_verb_snd
OSC_SendDoubleSpecific("/ch/"+mike_vox_ch+"/send/"+verb_bus+"/lvl", newValue, osc_dest_ip, osc_dest_port)
End
On WidgetValueChanged(newValue: Double) from jg_verb_snd
OSC_SendDoubleSpecific("/ch/"+jg_vox_ch+"/send/"+verb_bus+"/lvl", newValue, osc_dest_ip, osc_dest_port)
End