Can I script a rotary knob to change plugin preset?

I would like to use a rotary knob on a Presonus Atom controller to change presets in a VST plugin. The plugin is MPhatik.

I have been experimenting with ways to change presets within a single rackspace variation which would also allow me to see the name of the VST preset selected.

I have failed because I am still new to GP4 and don’t yet have the time to fully explore scripting due to gig demands. Would a more experienced GP4 user be able to give me a hand with this?

Many thanks

Hi @BLC, welcome to the family.

There is indeed a possibility to change presets of a plugin via a Widget -. but is is not recommended.
Why do you need that?
Better you use different rackspaces or mulitple instances of the same plugin and filter NOTE ON messages in the different variations.

Or in the case of MPHATIC bypass/unbypass the needed instance of the plugin.

1 Like

Hi @pianopaul

Thanks for your reply. In this instance I have a rack of percussion set up using Groove Agent, using MPhatik to provide some tonal character. There is a “glitch” that happens when moving between two custom presets that is particularly appealing (unlike most glitches). So, I want to be able to use a spare rotary to be able to move effortlessly between them in real time. I was able to do this in another host but cannot figure the best way to do this in GP4 I expect there are several ways). Patch persist is not a requirement in this use case!

And you are sure that switching a preset in a plugin is absolutely glitch free?

One of the goals of GP is to not have glitching and that’s why changing presets on the fly is not “easy” – we can’t guarantee how well a particular plugin will handle having presets be changed on the fly, many plugins were simply not designed for that.

1 Like

I would do that with some instances of the plugin and audio route to them in parallel.