Cameron Winters - Vesser / Atonian

Recently I was lucky enough to be invited onto the Backstage livestream with Brett to talk a bit about my rig and Gig Performer setup. You can find that here:

I go pretty in depth about my setup in the video. Here, I thought I’d talk a bit more about HOW I came into Gig Performer. Im sure many of you have a very similar story. And if not, hopefully the thought processes of everything can give you some examples of problem solving when it comes to your creative process. And if you’re just interested in my current rig’s specs, just skip to the bottom :+1:

I’ve been playing guitar for close to 20 years now. Over the years I built up your typical guitar rig. Heavily based on Adam Jones of Tool. It was a great sounding tube halfstack and a big ass pedalboard. All you need to feel like a rock star.

That was all great at the time. I was mostly playing along to my favorite songs, occasionally playing with some friends, and rarely playing live. During all this time though, I was starting to record more. I had started making electronic music in FL Studio and was slowly learning how to record and manipulate audio.

I eventually started getting the hang of recording. I had a mic and would record random riffs and covers. But then I discovered the Mesa Boogie CabClone. I don’t have a picture of my rig at this time, but basically what this allowed me to do was record my amp head directly into the computer, silently. This was a game changer. I fell in love with putting on my headphones and being surrounded by guitar. I was also now able to record at any time I wanted.

I started to discover the world of guitar plugins. Again, I tried many. Ended up settling on Bias, probably the best available digital amp at the time. I was impressed. At first, I thought it was just a fun toy. Eventually though, I found myself liking Bias more than my CabClone and amp combo. I sold the amp and actually bought Bias.