Bug and Odd Behavior with Arrays

I am fairly new to GP, but have found the combination of customizable widgets and scripting to be perfect for setting up a live guitar rig with my FCB1010 pedal board. However, I have come across some odd behavior with arrays, including what appears to be a bug.

First, the bug: calling a user function that returns an array crashes GP. To confirm this, I created a new rackspace, with no plugins or widgets, and created a very simple script:

var  array1 : double[10]

Function GetArray() returns double array
    result = array1
End

Initialization
    var ar : double array
    ar = GetArray()
End

When I compile this script, GP crashes.

The other odd thing I have noticed is that assigning an array to a new variable seems to copy the array, instead of creating a new reference to the array. For example:

Initialization
    var ar1 : double[10]
          ar2 : double array

ar2 = ar1  //at this point, I expect ar2 to be pointing to ar1, e.g. they are the same array in memory
    ar2[0] = 1.0
    Print("ar1[0] = " + ar1[0])
    Print("ar2[0] = " + ar2[0])
End

Result:
ar1[0] = 0.0
ar2[0] = 1.0

This is unlike any programming language I have ever used. This seriously messed me up for hours trying to debug a script that uses two arrays, one of which gets assigned to a local variable depending on a specific condition. I was setting a member of the local array to a new value, but that value was not getting reflected in the global array that I thought that variable was pointing to. I didn’t see any mention of this behavior in the docs, but maybe I just missed it.

Is there some way to assign an array to a new array variable, such that the variable points to the array instead of getting a copy of it?

I would be confused when ar2 would just point to ar1.

I can reproduce the crash on OS X

Thanks for the replies, PianoPaul.

I would be confused when ar2 would just point to ar1.