Assigning a sticky note help

Hello, I’m new to Gig Performer and Mac.
I need a way to hold a single note with a single key press from my midi controller until I trigger it to stop.
I used Cantabile/PC for 7 years for my live performances and there is a “sticky note” function.
I searched around quite a bit and found nothing, so I am asking here.
Thank you in advance

Tim

This thread might help to start:

Jeff

1 Like

Should the NOTE On message sent to a plugin ?

When the button is on The Note On message is sent out of the mapped MIDI In Plugin
and when the button is off the Note Off message is sent.

1 Like

Yes. Using plugins (arturia/OPX-Pro/etc)
There are several instances in our set where I need to hit a note that holds for a specific period of time.
In Cantabile I would hit the note on either my M-Audio 61 or Roland PK-5 then when I needed it to stop I would hit it again.

Ahh!
I will dive in this evening.
That looks like it will do the trick.
Thank you for helping this self proclaimed “midiot” out.

Tim

Thank you for your suggestion!

1 Like

Does the velocity of the note you play need to impact what is produced or is it just on/off?

1 Like

No. I just need the note to hold until I hit it again to stop it.

Thank you

Tim

Seems like I can get it to hold but not release.
I must be missing something.

Attached is a simple scriptlet that will do what you need. Just save this somewhere and drag it into a rackspace

As you can see from the monitors, every time I press C3 on a keyboard, it will toggle sending out a C1 (on) and C1 (off)
You can use the parameters to change what you press and what gets sent out

StickyNote.gpp_internal (3.1 KB)

1 Like

The problem with the direct widget solution proposed by @pianopaul is that it doesn’t toggle the way you need if you trigger with a note as when you release the note the button will pop out again.

The scriptlet will handle this

1 Like