Amplitude 5 widget control

I’m just starting out on Gig Performer 3.8.1 that I just bought a few days ago from Plugin Alliance unlocked version. I read I could save on performance by using widgets to bypass effects in Amplitude using the same setup by creating variations for verse, chorus etc.

I have tried building widgets with a toggle switch and I am experimenting with many of my different guitar plugins. I tried a Kuassa gate pedal and the widget successfully controls bypassing this pedal. I tried bypassing a Lancaster ODR-1 pedal and on setup the pedal bypass controls the widget switch but the switch will not control the power. It’s like some things control and others do not…the same switch will control the drive or level but not the power bottom (bypass).

The one I am really trying to control is Amplitude. I have tried to use the learn button as well as preassigning the pedal bypass within the software to parameter 1 but I can’t seem to control the widget or the widget control Amplitude. I did get lucky a couple times and Amplitude would turn the widget to off but would not turn it back to on.

Since I am new to this - am I missing a setting somewhere or are there just certain plugins that certain parameters are hard to get the widges to control?

OK so after playing with this all evening I think I know what’s going on. Amplitude is looking for a message similar to a midi message so a switch doesn’t work for bypass but using a rotary knob does activate the bypass like 0-50 is effect bypassed and 51-100 is effect on.

A button should work as well. But if you’re wanting to do bypass, you should use the GP plugin bypass instead.

Hi @matt_butler2001 welcome!

My tests with stomp pedals in amplitube work ok. If you right-click the switch/button in amplitube and ‘Assign Automation’, and then map that same parameter number to a GP widget, it will work.

amplitube param automation