Yet another Noob looking at converting from Mainstage

Firstly my apologies as I am sure most of the answers are somewhere on here, but I am working 4 jobs ATM, and a little time poor(tomorrow is my 12th day straight working) . I play in a Rock covers band, and I am basically a 54yo guitarist playing Synths. I have been using Mainstage, and I found it struggling on a 2013 MB, so I purchased an M1 MB Pro 8/512. I find it quite often struggles, and spins around. Fortunately consolidating the concert helps a lot, but I found using 3rd party plugins would slow it down, or cause it to crash. I also find sometimes, it does not save Volume settings, or Solo settings, so I have to manually select them.
several months ago, I saw VST Live, and purchased it, being a student for a good intro price. What a waste. Its pretty much in Beta.

So this is my setup, I have a Kontakt S49Mk2 + Nektar LS49 as my controllers relying on my Macbook Pro for Sound and a Focusrite 2i2 as the Audio Interface which goes into a Sound Mixer than PA. I also sometimes use an Alesis Vortex 2 Keytar. I have Linkesoft Songbook to display my setlist and songs, as well as send song changes to Mainstage to change songs, however it is limited to 128 songs (As yet I haven’t been able to successfully change songs using banks etc). I also rely on the Chord Trigger heavily (so I can do backing vocals easier), plus sometimes use the Arpeggiator. I have quite a few sounds from Kontakt, some from IK Multimedia including the Hammond Organ B3X, and Roland Sound Manager
We have about 120 songs on hand for various gigs. From what I have seen,Gig Performer looks good. I will probably use the trial first, and no doubt have a lot of work converting, before I can use it live.

• As far as chord triggers go, I have seen Ripchord. I assume that is the best freeware one, that looks as easy as the one in Mainstage?
  • I haven’t found an easy arpeggiator as yet.
  • Any recommended effects for Chorus, Reverb, Delay?