What's the best way to troubleshoot or just fix stability issues?

Hi-

I’m a IT professional but relatively new to software-based sound generation. I been learning and using GP for the last few months. However, my main gigfile is now so unstable as to be unusable. Here are some of the issues:

1. The gigfile will sometimes hang on startup. It won’t always hang on the same plugin. It has hung on Garritan’s CFX piano, AAS Lounge Lizard and NI Session Horns, among others. When this happens I can generally do a force quit, restart GP and it will work. This has been happening for a long time (several weeks).

2. In the last two days, the time it has taken to switch from one rackspace to another has gone from instantaneous or a few seconds to several minutes.

3. As I have documented in a different thread, I have one plugin that will sometimes stop sounding when I switch away and back. This has been happening for a couple of weeks.

4. Trying to do anything where GP has to write to disk (save gigfile, export rackspaces, etc.) has gotten slow. (I’ve got a standard Apple SSD, which is very fast.) This just started happening today.

I’ve checked the health of the SSD and it is fine. I’ve also wiped the contents of the ~/Library/Cache/Gig Performer 3 and ~/Library/Application Support/GigPerformer directories. There was nothing in the ~/Library/Application Support/GigPerformer3 directory, btw.

I should mention that I just finished adding the DPMeter4 plugin from TBProAudio to all the rackspaces. This was to equalize the loudness across rackspaces. (BTW, this worked great. I hope that this isn’t one of the problems.)

What’s the best procedure for troubleshooting or just fixing this? Some things I could try:

• Remove dpMeter4 from rackspaces

• Create a new gigfile and export the rackspaces from the old gigfile to the new one.

• Create a new gigfile and rebuild the rackspaces from scratch

• Reinstall plugins

• Reinstall Gig Performer

• Rebuild MacBook…