Replace MIDI In

Sometimes one has to change the midi plugin in situations when the normal keyboard is not available (for example NI S88) and you want to play something
in the Hotel (yes I am a consultant) with the computer keyboard using a different small usb keyboard.

Would be nice if it would be possible to replace in general S88 Midi In by another Midi in in all rackspaces.
All the settings like channel mapping, transpose, key range etc. should not get lost.

Now the Midi In must be changed in each rackspace and all properties are gone.

Why can you not do this through Audio/MIDI Settings application on the Mac?

David:

Forgive my ignorance, but do you mean that we would just use the OMNI midi in and just swap controllers, or are you saying there is a way to (through Audio-Midi setup) make one controller ā€˜look likeā€™ another one?

Iā€™m interested in this because I often switch between 2 controllers. My original plan was to try to stick to OMNI midi in as much as possible, but then I lose out on some flexibility.

Thanks!

-Don

If you only have one controller then OMNI is fine as that particular block just accepts MIDI messages from ANY external MIDI device.

However, if you have multiple controllers, then you need to use named MIDI In blocks so that you can distinguish one controller from another.

Those names are by default the original device names that are registered when you plugin a MIDI controller. However, if you use Audio MIDI settings application, you can define your own names of devices and associate THOSE with the physical device names. Gig Performer will be able to see the names you defined so if you use those names in Gig Performer you wonā€™t have to change anything in GP should you use different external devices.

I will write a knowledgebase article on this topic as soon as I can.

I think I follow. Iā€™ll have to play with this over the weekend. Thanks!

@dhj,