Recall Variation With a CC?

I’m relatively new to GP, so please excuse the newby question.

I’m a guitar player and use GP with variation plugins and it works like a champ. Right now, I’m using the Orange OMEC Teleport as my interface (due to low latency) and my Line 6 Helix to change variations (via PC messages) and CC to turn blocks on and off. Everything works as expected.

I want to move to an interface where the A-D and the midi switching is all in one. Something like the Xsonic XTone. However, the Xtone (and a few others) only send midi CC messages…as far as I can tell…the manual is a bit lacking. As far as I know you can only change variations with a PC.

With all that said, is there a way to change variations using a CC?

Take a look at the preferences, you should be able to assign CC values to Song Parts

I’d like to assign CC’s to variation within a Rig. I don’t use (and don’t want to use) songs or song parts. I load a rig and have variations set for clean/crunch/heavy/lead, etc.

Is this not possible? I know how to assign PCs to a variation, but I do not see an option for CCs. Unless I’m overlooking something I don’t think it’s possible. Seems like a pretty big oversight to me.

Why can’t you use Song Parts?
A workaround could be scripting.
How many rackspaces are you using?
And how many variations within a rackspace?

There is an option in the global midi preferences.
You can learn a Controller Message and with the controller value you can select your variation.

I’m a little confused — you want to be able to change variations using CC messages. We specifically added this ability through the new Song system so you can do exactly this. But you don’t want to use the feature (songs/song parts) that specifically supports the functionality you want?

That’s kinda like saying,

Owner: I want to steer my car like I did with my horses but there are no reins. That seems like an oversight.
Manufacturer: We added a steering wheel to do that