Never used MIDI before, please help

I have Gig Performer 3 on a laptop with Windows 11 and I am trying to use my Marshall footswitch as a MIDI footwsitch via the Beatbars FS2M adapter.
MFS
The footswicth is nothing fancy, just a stomp that switches between channel 1 and channel 2. I am trying to do exactly the same on Gig Performer, to switch between 2 racks (clean and overdrive) with one stomp. The problem is that I am absolutely incompetent and I couldn’t find any videos that explain how to do that. Please help me, I have never used MIDI before and I am really struggling.
Sorry if my problem seems very basic, I am slowly learnig about this new stuff (new for me). Thank you.

Hm… ok,
connect everything, then open the Midi Monitor window in Gig Performer: Menu “Window” → “MIDI Monitor”
Now press the footswitch and release, then press again and release (i suppose the switch is latching?).
You should now see some messages in the MIDI-Monitor window… if so, please make a screenshot and upload it here, so we can see what is happening.

Besides that, you should tell us which plugin you want to control with that switch and also what version of GP you have (is it from Deskew or Plugin Alliance? If the latter, is it the unlocked or the locked version?).

Thanks in advance for providing the information, this will make it easier for us to help you.

Cheers!
Erik

1 Like

Welcome @Obssy. If you want to switch between two different rackspaces in GP, the best way will be if you can set up that adapter to toggle between two Program Change messages: PC 0 and PC 1.

It looked like you could set up different ‘toggle’ options in the adapter:

• Toggle Controller/Program number
3 Likes

Thank you very much for the reply. As suggested, here is the screenshot:

The GP is Plugin Alliance, but not sure which version. The plugin I am trying to control is EZMix 2, I have 2 racks: clean and overdrive, I just want to switch between the 2.
Thank you!

OMG it worked, thank you so much!