GP3 for FOH live plugin hosting - Setup and workflow

Hi.
I’m a FOH sound engineer, and I’m looking into replacing my current plugin host (Live Professor 2) with GP3.
I initially thought GP3 would be ideal for my setup, but after a couple of days fighting to understand exactly the workflow and capabilities I’m a bit dumbfounded.

1: My initial idea was that I could build several racks working simultaneously in tandem, where each rack would be the insert path of the different channels from my Mixer.
Have I misunderstood completely? It seems only one rack-space will pass audio at a time?

2: Would that mean I would need to put all the plugins I use in one rack space, and then build all the insert paths within that one rack space?

3: If question 2 is correct, that would mean I need to build all widgets also within one rack space. Are you unlimited in the amount of rack panels one can put in a single rack space?

4: I need some plugins to always recall settings within a song part, and others to never recall anything and be completely safe from any recall (Like the plugins in the insert path of my master bus). Is this possible?

5: Rack Variations: Lets say I have 20 songs in a set with 5 parts each song, that amount to 100 “variations” in a set. Would I need to make a rack variation for every part of every song?

6: Is all plugin settings stored within a song part, even though they are not mapped out to a widget?

I probably have a ton more questions, but I guess this is enough for a start. Hopefully someone here can help me out, I’m starting to think my needs and usual workflow isn’t matching up well with how GP3 is meant to work.

In SetList Mode the song parts are referencing rackspace variations.
This way you can reuse variations, so when you have 100 Songparts you need probably much less variations.

Plugin settings are stored as state in a rackspace.
The widgets can be mapped to plugin parameters and the value of a widget is stored in a rackspace.